Media Contacts

Trish Fougner, Manager

Government Communications and Public Engagement
Ministry of Advanced Education
250 812-4241


Co-op funding for B.C. public post-secondary institutions

The following institutions will receive $75,000 each in one-time funding and an additional $100,000 will be provided to the Association for Co-operative Education BC for a total of $1.3 million to support outreach to more employers and increase employer and student awareness of the benefits of co-operative education:

  • British Columbia Institute of Technology
  • Camosun College
  • Capilano University
  • Douglas College
  • Kwantlen Polytechnic University
  • Langara College
  • North Island College
  • Okanagan College
  • Selkirk College
  • Simon Fraser University
  • Thompson Rivers University
  • University of British Columbia
  • University of the Fraser Valley
  • University of Northern British Columbia
  • University of Victoria
  • Vancouver Island University

Quick Facts:

  • This year marks the 40th anniversary of co-op in B.C.
  • There are more than 150 different co-op programs in B.C.
  • In 2014-15, there were approximately 13,000 student co-op work placements in B.C. This represents an increase of more than 45% over the last five years.
  • The majority of students completing co-op work placements are at the University of British Columbia, Simon Fraser University and the University of Victoria (85% in 2014-15).
  • Co-op placements are concentrated in Engineering (31% in 2014-15), Administration/Business (19%), Science (14%) and Computer Science (13%).

Learn More:

The Association for Co-operative Education BC/Yukon (ACE):

Media Assets

These assets are subject to the terms of the News Footage License - British Columbia.