Media Contacts

Media Relations

Ministry of Education
250 356-5963


School district funding applications approved

Rural Education Enhancement Funding approved to help keep the following schools open in 2016-17.

Quesnel School District (SD 28)

  • Kersley Elementary, Kersley - $282,090
  • Parkland Elementary, Ten Mile Lake - $248,802

Okanagan Similkameen School (SD 53)

  • Osoyoos Secondary School, Osoyoos - $387,300

Okanagan Skaha School District (SD 67)

  • Trout Creek Elementary, Trout Creek/ Summerland - $369,815
  • West Bench Elementary, West Bench/ Penticton - $369,404

Campbell River School District (SD72)

  • Discovery Passage Elementary, Duncan Bay/ Campbell River - $161,372
  • Oyster River Elementary, Oyster River - $228,005

A number of districts applied for schools slated to close in 2017-18. The ministry has indicated that these schools would be supported by the Rural Education Enhancement Fund to remain open in that school year, with funding amounts to be determined.

Kootenay Lake School District (SD 8)

  • Winlaw Elementary, Winlaw or WE Graham Community School, Slocan City
  • Jewett Elementary, Meadow Creek

Powell River School District (SD 47)

  • Texada Elementary, Texada Island

Sooke School District (SD 62)

  • Port Renfrew Elementary, Port Renfrew