Media Contacts

Media Relations

250 387-2799


Recent Medal of Good Citizenship Recipients

John Phare, a tree faller from Roberts Creek, was posthumously honoured with the medal in fall 2015 after he was killed while fighting the Old Sechelt Mine fire that July:

Joan LeMoine, a well-known Parksville citizen and community ambassador, was honoured with the medal for her contribution to many Parksville organizations and events:

Judith Armstrong and Nick Marsden, two Victoria citizens, were honoured with the medal for their decades of dedication to British Columbians with developmental disabilities:

Patricia Housty, a Bella Bella citizen, was honoured for being a generous volunteer, role model and community caretaker within the Heiltsuk First Nation. Housty is the first Aboriginal person to receive the medal:

Dave Homberg, an Abbotsford resident, was honoured for his ongoing volunteer and philanthropic contributions to the city and in particular for his efforts around the building of the first free-standing hospice facility in Abbotsford:

Lita Salanski was posthumously honoured with the medal to recognize the impact she had on Grasmere, its ranching and farming community, educational infrastructure and spiritual foundation:

Kamal Dhillon, who was honoured for her courage to transcend her suffering from domestic violence, brings a powerful message to the public about domestic violence and offers hope to other victims:

Dave Dickson was honoured for his wide-ranging volunteer contributions made in the Williams Lake and Chilcotin Cariboo region, many of which have helped to make the community safer, reduced crime, and ensured those who are in need or vulnerable are taken care of:

Bud Abbott, a Cranbrook citizen, was honoured for his contributions and countless volunteer hours to the Rotary, Canadian Mental Health Association, Meals on Wheels, Salvation Army and the Cranbrook Community Theatre:

Richard Bergen was honoured for his service to the community of Forest Grove and his countless hours of volunteerism:

John Simpson was honoured for his dedication to helping people with acquired brain injuries (ABI) and for devoting more than three decades and thousands of hours of service to this cause:

Dylan Van Rooyen was honoured for the inspirational leadership he demonstrated in his involvement with many organizations and events centred on helping Surrey youth and families:

Trudie BonBernard, who was honoured for her service to community and countless hours of volunteering, has helped to promote and significantly expand the service provided by the St. John Ambulance Therapy Dog Program to Kamloops residents facing a variety of challenges:

Clayton Cassidy was honoured for his extensive community leadership and his dedicated service helping Cache Creek residents stay safe and return to their homes following the devastating flood in May 2015:

John Scott was honoured for his wide-ranging and selfless contributions to the community of Prince George, enriching the lives of youth, comforting those through illness and trauma, focusing well-deserved attention on the sacrifices veterans have made for Canada:

Troy Becker, a resident of West Kelowna, was honoured for contributions to making his community a safer place and helping to create life-enhancing opportunities that build confidence for people with disabilities:

Marion Sallenbach, a resident of Winfield, was honoured for her many years of volunteerism within the community. Her selfless actions have had a tremendous impact on countless families in the Okanagan:

Ray Abernethy who was honoured for his dedication to helping women in transition, single moms and dads on income assistance, new immigrant families, refugees, fire victims, seniors and others in Burnaby by providing basic household necessities to relieve the cost of establishing and maintaining a comfortable home:

Marilyn Rushton who was honoured with the medal for her inspirational life of service to the visually impaired community, her contributions to families with blind and visually impaired children, and her energetic support for the musical community:

Abbe Gates who was honoured with the medal for spearheading initiatives aimed at improving life experiences and inclusion for children, teens and young adults with developmental and physical disabilities:

Communities of Tofino and Ahousaht who were honoured with the medal for the selfless dedication demonstrated in October 2015, when coming to the assistance of the families and victims of the sinking of the Leviathan II in Tofino: