Media Contacts

Media Relations

Government Communications and Public Engagement
Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure
250 356-8241


Key facts about the Victoria Regional Transit Commission
  • Transit service in Greater Victoria is governed by the Victoria Regional Transit Commission. It will now consist of eight members (six locally elected mayors and two councillors) who are appointed according to the BC Transit Act.
  • Under the act, the following representatives must be appointed to the commission: Victoria's mayor, a Victoria councillor, the mayor of Esquimalt or Oak Bay, the mayor of Saanich, a Saanich councillor and one of the mayors of Sidney, North Saanich or Central Saanich and two representatives of the western communities – the Mayors of Colwood, Metchosin, View Royal, Langford, Highlands, Sooke or the director of the Juan de Fuca Electoral Area.
  • The board of directors, through the chair, reports to the Minister of Transportation and Infrastructure, who is the Minister responsible for BC Transit.
  • The commission sets routes, service levels, fares and local taxes for transit purposes. It reviews and is responsible for raising the local share of the annual cost of transit in the region.
  • The commission is made up of the following members:
    • Chair – Councillor Susan Brice - District of Saanich
    • Mayor Richard Atwell - District of Saanich
    • Mayor Lisa Helps - City of Victoria
    • Mayor Alice Finall - District of North Saanich
    • Mayor Barb Desjardins- Township of Esquimalt
    • Mayor Carol Hamilton - City of Colwood
    • NEW: Mayor Maja Tait - District of Sooke
    • Councillor Marianne Alto - City of Victoria
  • Under the newly established joint provincial and federal Public Transit Infrastructure Fund, almost $160 million is being invested provincewide to improve transit in BC Transit-served communities. This includes a $10 million extension to the Douglas Street northbound bus lane, from Tolmie Avenue to the McKenzie interchange that will reduce congestion on one of Victoria’s major transit routes servicing West Shore communities.