Media Contacts

Stephen Smart

Press Secretary
Office of the Premier
778 389-6202

Bill Anderson

Communications Director
Minister of State for Rural Economic Development
Government Communications and Public Engagement
250 888-3381


Rural communities benefit from Rural Dividend funding

With the release of B.C.’s rural economic development strategy, the Province is making immediate investments of $14,315,524 through the Rural Dividend Fund to help rural communities throughout British Columbia diversify and strengthen their economies.

The Province is awarding 109 grants to 42 local governments, 27 First Nations and 40 not-for-profit organizations throughout the province for single and partnership projects.

Successful projects range from supporting youth in Fort St. James to develop life and career goals through practical work experience, to a project in Tumbler Ridge that will expand the tourism sector in the Peace region, to a project in the Village of Midway that will support upgrades to the Midway Community Centre.

In February 2017, $756,591 in project-development grants was awarded to help successful proponents develop strong single-applicant, or partnerships projects, that create or retain jobs and support economic diversity in their communities.

The $25-million-per-year Rural Dividend Fund was extended for a fourth year in Balanced Budget 2017. Funding is available in four categories:

  • community capacity building;
  • workforce development;
  • community and economic development; and
  • business-sector development.

Through the first two rounds of Rural Dividend funding has provided nearly $24 million to support projects that will diversify and strengthen the economy of rural communities throughout the province.

The third application intake will run from April 3, to May 31, 2017.

Second intake project grant recipients

Clayoquot Biosphere Trust Society: $100,000
Cowichan Valley Regional District: $500,000
United Riders of Cumberland: $45,000
Dzawada'enuxw First Nation (Kingcome Inlet): $90,000
Ditidaht Development Corporation: $100,000
Southern Gulf Islands Community Resource Centre Society: $77,760
Heiltsuk Tribal Council (Bella Bella): $100,000
Hope Business and Development Society: $499,948
Huu-ay-aht First Nation (Port Alberni): $100,000
Kitimat: $80,000
Merville Community Association: $77,350
Mountainaire Avian Rescue Society (Courtenay): $100,000
Regional District of Mount Waddington: $500,000
Regional District of Nanaimo: $30,000
Nanwakolas Council (Campbell River): $100,000
Port Alberni : $300,000
Port Alice: $80,000
Port McNeill Kids in Motion Society: $10,000
Qualicum Beach: $100,000
Squamish Chamber of Commerce: $42,736
Squamish Indian Band: $100,000
Squamish-Lillooet Regional District: $100,000
Sto:lo Community Futures Corporation (Chilliwack): $100,000
Sts'ailes First Nation (Agassiz): $300,000
Sunshine Coast Community Futures: $224,000
Zeballos: $91,720

Bulkley Valley Economic Development Association (Smithers): $17,436
Burns Lake: $79,850
Burns Lake Mountain Biking Association: $100,000
Cheslatta Carrier Nation: $100,000
Dease River Development Corporation : $94,000
Gitlaxt'aamiks Village Government (New Aiyansh): $288,000
Granisle: $100,000
Mackenzie: $75,562
Moricetown Band Administration: $499,094
Nak'azdli Whut'en (Fort St. James): $167,500
Northern Rockies Regional Municipality: $116,740
Prophet River First Nation: $30,000
Community Futures Peace Liard: $385,000
Invasive Species Council of British Columbia (for projects in the Peace): $100,000
Powell River: $100,000
Smithers: $40,000
Taylor: $2,960
Tahltan Central Government Socio-Cultural Working Group (Tatl’ah/Dease Lake): $100,000
Tansi Friendship Centre Society (Chetwynd): $79,816
Tumbler Ridge: $100,000
Tumbler Ridge Global Geopark Society: $100,000
Ksan House Society (Terrace): $78,970
West Moberly First Nations (Moberly Lake): $99,300

100 Mile House: $300,000
Barkerville Historic Town and Park: $127,800
Cariboo Regional District: $96,000
Community Futures Development Corporation of Fraser-Fort George (Prince George): $100,000
Regional District of Fraser-Fort George (Prince George): $100,000
Lhtako Dene Nation (Quesnel): $100,000
Quesnel: $100,000
Northern Secwepemc Cultural Society (108 Mile Lake): $99,550
Tsilhqot'in National Government (Williams Lake): $498,000
Toosey Indian Band (Riske Creek): $369,000
Valemount: $100,000
Valemount Learning Society: $100,000
Williams Lake: $500,000
Xatsull First Nation – Soda Creek Indian Band (Williams Lake): $100,000
Yunesit'in Government (Hanceville): $100,000
Xeni Gwet'in First Nation Government (Nemiah Valley): $100,000

Antares Project Services (Lillooet): $100,000
Barriere: $43,600
Cache Creek: $32,000
Clearwater: $240,000
Enderby: $80,050
Greenwood: $77,315
Keremeos: $100,000
Lillooet: $56,717
Logan Lake: $100,000
Merritt: $100,000
Midway: $93,840
North Okanagan Community Futures Development Corporation: $500,000
Okanagan Indian Band (Vernon): $100,000
Regional District of Okanagan Similkameen: $36,747
Oliver and District Heritage Society: $60,000
Osoyoos: $66,000
Penticton & District Multicultural Society: $94,052
Princeton: $100,000
Salmon Arm Economic Development Society: $43,000
Little Shuswap Lake Indian Band: $100,000  
Shuswap Hut and Trail Alliance Society: $98,061
Simpcw First Nation (Barriere): $50,000
South Shuswap Chamber of Commerce: $9,200
Splats'in Development Corporation (Enderby): $85,500
Lower North Thompson Community Forest Society: $100,000
T'it'q'et Administration (Lillooet): $100,000

Arrow and Slocan Lakes Community Services: $100,000
Canal Flats: $100,000
Castlegar and District Chamber of Commerce: $100,000
Columbia Valley Greenways Trail Alliance (Invermere): $500,000
Community Futures Development Corporation of Central Kootenay: $100,000
Cranbrook: $20,000
Elkford Women’s Task Force: $8,000
Golden: $35,000
Golden Cycling Club: $90,000
Kimberley Nordic Club: $55,100
Kootenay Columbia Trails Society: $35,000
Kootenay Employment Services Society: $100,000
Ktunaxa Nation Council Society (Cranbrook): $100,000
Lower Columbia Community Development Team Society (Trail): $500,000
Nakusp: $100,000
Revelstoke Cycling Association : $10,000
Salmo: $56,000
Silverton: $47,250

Total: $14,315,524

Media Contacts

Bill Anderson

Communications Director
Minister of State for Rural Economic Development
Government Communications and Public Engagement
250 888-3381

Media Assets

These assets are subject to the terms of the News Footage License - British Columbia.