Media Contacts

Media Relations

Ministry of Public Safety and Solicitor General
250 213-3602


Province honours police officers for acts of valour and commitment to the safety of the public

The following honourees were selected by a committee of representatives from the B.C. Association of Chiefs of Police and the Ministry of Public Safety and Solicitor General’s Police Services Division.


Abbotsford Police Department

Const. John Davidson (posthumous) – for exceptional bravery and ultimate sacrifice as the first responder to a call of shots fired.

Constables Shane Dueck, Chris Froese, Doug Watkins, Shane Wiens and Name Withheld – high-risk apprehension of an armed suspect who had fatally wounded a fellow officer.

Delta Police Department

Sgt. Michael Scholtz and Const. David Dyck – rescued an injured, suicidal male from the ocean.

South Coast British Columbia Transportation Authority Police Service

Const. Ryan Morrison – stopped an intoxicated male intent on driving and ensured the safety of the child passenger.

Vancouver Police Department

Constables Viet Hoang, Jeannie Kwan and Clayton Richardson – safely apprehended a violent, mentally ill male armed with a knife.

Lower Mainland District and Vancouver Police Department Emergency Response teams

From the Lower Mainland District Emergency Response Team – Insp. Kevin Cyr (now with the Office of the Commanding Officer), Constables Daniel DiPaola, Luke Johnston, David Ogilvy, Frankie Penney, Darcy Rowe and Name Withheld.

From the Vancouver Police Department Emergency Response Team – Sgt. Aaron Kazuta, Constables Wesley Cordick, Cameron Hemphill, Chris Koch, Sam Primerano, Jamie Proust and Michael Wagar – entered the residence of an active shooter to perform a hostage rescue.

Nanaimo Detachment

Constables Cydney MacNeill, Kayle Ramsay and Linsey Warren – entered a burning apartment building to search for and evacuate residents.

North Cowichan/Duncan Detachment

Reserve Const. Jack MacNeill and Name Withheld – entered a burning home to search for a missing resident.

North District Emergency Response Team

Insp. Adam MacNeill; Sergeants Ryan Arnold and Robert Christenson; Corporals Bryson Hipkin, Chris MacDonald and Colin Warwick; Constables Duane Biever, Josh Grafton, Bruce Lofroth, Darrin Meier, Ryan Nelson, Armand Pinnegar, Jared Sweeney and Name Withheld x 5 – undertook a high risk apprehension of known, armed suspects.


Abbotsford Police Department

Staff Sgt. Paul Dhillon – saved a suicidal male from jumping off the Mission Bridge.

Staff Sgt. Mark Jordan; Sgt. Colin Wiebe; Constables Kevin Murray, Tyler Gump, Chuck McLellan; Det. Alex Wood and Name Withheld x 2 – exceptional performance under tremendous emotional stress following the shooting death of a fellow police officer.

Const. Paul Walker – created, piloted and developed the Prohibited Driver Enforcement Team within the Integrated Road Safety Unit.

Det. Alex Wood – provided medical intervention to a suicidal male with self-inflicted neck wounds.

Central Saanich Police Service

Sgt. Andrew Duke – for raising awareness about post-traumatic stress disorder.

Delta Police Department

Staff Sgt. David Vaughan-Smith; Const. Brian Short and Reserve Const. Justin Wong – assisted in the rescue of an injured, suicidal male from the ocean.

Const. Kristine Pemberton – exceptional performance and dedication during a fraud investigation targeting vulnerable seniors.

New Westminster Police Department

Acting Staff Sgt. Dwayne Raymond, Sgt. Josh Hooker, Acting Sgt. Trevor Robinson, Detective Constable Chris Cecil, Const. James Wertz (Coquitlam Detachment) and Name Withheld x 2 – solved a 20-year-old aggravated sexual assault.

Port Moody Police Department

Const. Jason Maschke – while off duty, provided lifesaving aid to the driver of a serious motor vehicle collision.

South Coast British Columbia Transportation Authority Police Service

Const. Kyle Prodanovic and Name Withheld – saved a suicidal female from jumping off an elevated SkyTrain track.

Vancouver Police Department

Insp. Colleen Yee and Detective Constable Alice Yee – established the Women’s Personal Safety Team to provide safety workshops for diverse groups of women in Vancouver.

Sgt. Peter Sadler – outstanding leadership and commitment to policing.

Detective Constable Alexander Charles – created and implemented Gang Tackle, an anti-gang diversion program for at-risk youth.

Victoria Police Department

Const. Shaun Juby – performed lifesaving aid to the victim of a stabbing.

West Vancouver Police Department

Const. Jeffrey Palmer – outstanding commitment and dedication to policing.

Fraser Valley Traffic Services

Name Withheld (now with Terrace Detachment) – while off duty, provided assistance to a critically injured youth involved in an all-terrain vehicle accident.

Grand Forks Detachment

Const. Alexander Bell – exceptional commitment and dedication over a seven-year period to conclude a missing persons investigation.

Integrated Homicide Investigation Team

Chief Supterintendent Claude Castonguay (now with “C” Division), Inspectors Graham de la Gorgendiere (now with Office of Investigative Standards and Practices) and Jagdeep Dhot, Sgt. Maj. Michael Procyk (currently with the Office of the Commanding Officer), Sgt. Joseph Fortin (now with Lower Mainland District Office), Cpl. Gerlind Spekat and Name Withheld x 2 - for exceptional commitment during a complex double homicide investigation.

Lower Mainland District Emergency Response Team

Supt. Douglas Maynard (retired); and Name Withheld – for leadership and expertise during an active shooter incident.

Sgt. Dave Malone, Corp. Jim Thomson and Name Withheld – researched and developed training that has become a national standard for Close Quarter Battle.

Lower Mainland Integrated Police Dog Service

Sgt. Jeremy Anderson (now with Police Dog Services Training Center) - placed himself at substantial risk during a crisis negotiation involving a suicidal male armed with a handgun and holding a female hostage.

Sgt. Chris Scott, Corporals Dale Ristau and Ian Sneddon – searched an expansive avalanche debris field during dangerous conditions for five missing hikers.

Const. Nathan Poyzer – searched for a mother and her two young children lost on Sumas Mountain.

North Cowichan/Duncan Detachment

Name Withheld (now with “G” Division) – safely apprehended a suicidal psychiatric patient armed with a knife.

Const. Todd Bozak – saved a distraught male intent on taking his own life.

Surrey Detachment

Supt. Shawna Baher (now with Vernon/North Okanagan Detachment) – leadership in identifying the opioid/fentanyl crisis and ensuring RCMP officers were authorized and trained to carry naloxone.

Const. Marcell Dehghan – negotiated the safe apprehension of a suicidal youth intent on jumping off the Port Mann Bridge.

Const. Jamie Rollinson – rescued a suicidal female from the outside ledge of the Port Mann Bridge.