Media Contacts

Sage Aaron

Communications Director
Office of the Premier
778 678-0832

Kent Karemaker

Media Relations
Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources
250 952-0628


B.C. Mining Jobs Task Force

The Province established the B.C. Mining Jobs Task Force to review exploration and mining and find ways to strengthen this important industry, to create and sustain good jobs in B.C.

The task force worked with First Nations, industry and communities to develop recommendations on possible actions government could take to bring more certainty to the mining sector and create good jobs for people, today, tomorrow and beyond.

One of the goals was to find ways to ensure mines in B.C. remain viable when commodity prices fluctuate. The task force examined B.C.’s competitiveness with other jurisdictions, including comparing financial incentives to determine what additional actions government might take to strengthen the exploration and mining industry in the province.

The 12-member task force was chaired by Peter Robb, assistant deputy minister, Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources, and included representatives from industry, First Nations, municipal government, an environmental non-governmental organization, labour, post-secondary/training and the financial sector.

Members of the task force include:

Keith Bertrand
Regina Siamoto
Earl Graham
Michelle Laurie
Codie Morigeau
Mark Podlasly
Neil Pogany
Bryan Cox
Tom Syer
Edie Thome
Richard Tremblay
Alan Young

In December 2018, the task force submitted its final report to government, including 25 actions for government to support a thriving, competitive and sustainable mining sector.

Biographies for the task force members are available online: