Media Contacts

Ministry of Environment and Climate Change Strategy

Media Relations
250 953-3834


New Climate Solutions Council

British Columbia’s Climate Solutions Council will provide advice to government on actions and policies that can contribute to carbon pollution reductions and sustainable economic development.

It includes members from First Nations, environmental organizations, industry, academic researchers, youth, labour and local government.

Council co-chairs:

Merran Smith, executive director, Clean Energy Canada
Colleen Giroux-Schmidt, vice-president of corporate relations, Innergex Renewable Energy Inc.

Council members:

David Black, president, MoveUp
Lee Brain, mayor, City of Prince Rupert
Ian Bruce, chief operative officer, David Suzuki Foundation
Matt Horne, climate policy manager, City of Vancouver
Lydia Hwitsum, First Nations Summit Political Executive
Mark Jaccard, professor of sustainable energy at the School of Resource and Environmental Management, Simon Fraser University
Adriana Laurent, co-founder and projects administrator, UBC Climate Hub
Skye McConnell, manager of policy and advocacy, Shell Canada
Kurt Niquidet, vice-president, BC Council of Forest Industries
Nancy Olewiler, professor and director at the School of Public Policy, Simon Fraser University
Josie Osborne, mayor, Tofino
Danielle (DJ) Pohl, president, Fraser Valley Labour Council
Khelsilem, council member, Squamish Nation
Tom Syer, head of government affairs, Teck Resources
Karen Tam Wu, acting director, Pembina Institute
Jill Tipping, president and chief executive officer, BC Tech Association

B.C. government (ex-offico member):

Mark Zacharias, deputy minister, Ministry of Environment and Climate Change Strategy