Media Contacts

Ministry of Mental Health and Addictions

250 213-7049


$2.5M investment to continue community-led solutions to the illicit drug toxicity crisis

By fall 2021, there will be 36 community action teams in B.C.:

  • Northern Health – five (Dawson Creek, Fort St. John, Prince George, Quesnel, Terrace)
  • Vancouver Coastal Health – five (Nuxalk, Powell River, Sea to Sky, Sunshine Coast, Vancouver)
  • Fraser Health – 11 (Abbotsford, Burnaby, Chilliwack, Hope, Langley, Maple Ridge, Mission, New Westminster, Surrey, South Surrey, Tri-Cities)
  • Interior Health – eight (Cranbrook, Grand Forks, Kamloops, Central Okanagan, Nelson-Castlegar, Penticton, Vernon, Williams Lake)
  • Island Health – seven (Campbell River, Comox Valley, Duncan, Nanaimo, Oceanside, Port Alberni, Victoria)

The first community action teams were established in February 2018 as part of the government’s escalated response to the drug poisoning crisis.