Media Contacts

Jordan Turner

Media Relations
Emergency Management BC
250 952-5062


Facts about B.C.'s state of emergency
  • Between Aug. 21, 2020, and June 4, 2021, 2,194 violation tickets were issued, including:
    • 419 $2,300 tickets to owners or organizers contravening the provincial health officer’s (PHO) order on gatherings and events; 
    • 41 $2,300 violation tickets for contravention of the PHO Food and Liquor Serving Premises Order; 
    • 1,649 $230 tickets to individuals who refused to comply with EPA orders;
    • 82 $575 tickets to individuals using the increased violation fines who promoted or attended a non-compliant event;
    • two $575 tickets to an individual for failing to comply with the travel restrictions; and
    • 1 $230 ticket for failing to stop at a road check.
  • The Ministry of Public Safety and Solicitor General is continually working to align the Emergency Program Act (EPA) enforcement orders with those of the restrictions enacted by the PHO.
  • Additionally, since the pandemic began, police agencies in British Columbia have issued 191 violation tickets to individuals who were in contravention of the Federal Quarantine Act, totalling $404,829.
    • The purpose of the Quarantine Act is to protect public health by taking comprehensive measures to prevent the introduction and spread of communicable diseases.
  • Since the start of the pandemic, WorkSafeBC has conducted 28,335 COVID-19 related worksite inspections.
  • On Dec. 16, 2020, the Province announced enhanced enforcement measures to keep British Columbians safe and mitigate the impacts of COVID-19. This included strengthening COVID-19 fine collection measures and asking provincial enforcement officers to support police and increase enforcement by issuing violation tickets during their normal course of duties or when in public places.
  • Declarations of provincial states of emergency may be issued by the minister responsible under the EPA.
  • The provincial government can extend the period of a declaration made by the minister responsible for further periods of up to 14 days at a time.