Extra school playground funds mean more fun for more kids, families (flickr.com)

Media Contacts

Ministry of Education and Child Care

Media Relations
250 356-5963


New accessible school playgrounds around B.C.

School districts in B.C. are receiving funding from the Playground Equipment Program, which was introduced in May 2018 to support building new and replacement playgrounds.

The following districts have been approved for $195,000 for an accessible playground at the schools listed below:

SD5 (Southeast Kootenay)

  • Frank J Mitchell Elementary

SD8 (Kootenay Lake)

  • Canyon/Lister Elementary

SD10 (Arrow Lakes)

  • Nakusp Elementary

SD19 (Revelstoke)

  • Begbie View Elementary

SD33 (Chilliwack)

  • Bernard Elementary

SD36 (Surrey)

  • Holly Elementary

SD39 (Vancouver)

  • G.T. Cunningham Elementary

SD46 (Sunshine Coast)

  • Kinnikinnick Elementary

SD48 (Sea to Sky)

  • Garibaldi Highlands Elementary

SD51 (Boundary)

  • Dr. D.A. Perley Elementary

SD58 (Nicola-Similkameen)

  • Merritt Bench Elementary

SD59 (Peace River South)

  • Canalta Elementary

SD62 (Sooke)

  • Dunsmuir Middle School

SD64 (Gulf Islands)

  • Fulford Community Elementary

SD69 (Qualicum)

  • Arrowview Elementary

SD70 (Pacific Rim)

  • Alberni Elementary

SD71 (Comox Valley)

  • Denman Island Community School

SD72 (Campbell River)

  • Pinecrest Elementary

SD79 (Cowichan Valley)

  • Lake Cowichan Elementary

SD82 (Coast Mountains)

  • Thornhill Primary

SD83 (North Okanagan-Shuswap)

  • Armstrong Elementary

SD84 (Vancouver Island West)

  • Captain Meares Elem-Secondary

SD85 (Vancouver Island North)

  • Alert Bay Elementary

SD91 (Nechako Lakes)

  • Fraser Lake Elementary-Secondary

SD92 (Nisga'a)

  • Alvin A. Mckay Elementary School