Media Contacts

Government Communications and Public Engagement

Ministry of Children and Family Development
250 356-0543

Rajvir Rao

BC Housing
604 439-8583


$500,000 benefits Aboriginal women and families

The following 56 transition houses and safe homes in B.C. have received a portion of the $500,000 investment to help Aboriginal women and children leave violent situations:

  • 100 Mile House: $5,000 for the 100 Mile House and District Women’s Centre Society’s 100 Mile House Safe Home.
  • Burns Lake: $10,000 for the Prince George and District Elizabeth Fry Society’s Eagle’s Nest Transition House.
  • Campbell River: $10,000 for the Campbell River and North Island Transition Society’s Ann Elmore Transition House.
  • Castlegar: $2,500 for the Castlegar and District Community Services Society’s Castlegar Safe Home.
  • Chetwynd: $5,000 for the South Peace Community Resources Society’s Chetwynd Safe Home.
  • Chilliwack: $10,000 to the Xolhemet Society for its on-reserve Wilma’s Transition House.
  • Clearwater: $5,000 for the Yellowhead Community Services Society’s Clearwater Safe Home.
  • Creston: A total of $10,000 for the Kootenai Community Centre Society – $5,000 for the Creston Older Women Safe Home Program and $5,000 for the Irvine House Safe Home Program.
  • Dawson Creek: $10,000 for the South Peace Community Resource Society’s Mizpah Transition House.
  • Duncan: $7,500 for the Cowichan Women Against Violence Society’s Somenos Transition House.
  • Fernie: $10,000 for the Elkford Women’s Task Force Society’s Elk Valley Safe Home.
  • Fort Nelson: $25,000 to the Fort Nelson Aboriginal Friendship Society for its Women’s Transition House.
  • Fort St. James: $10,000 to the Fireweed Collective Society for its Fireweed Safe Haven Transition House.
  • Fort St. John: $10,000 for North Peace Community Resources Society’s Meaope House.
  • Golden: $5,000 to the Golden Women’s Centre Society for its Golden Safe Home.
  • Gold River: $2,500 to the Campbell River and North Island Transition Society for its Gold River Safe Home.
  • Grand Forks: $10,000 to the Boundary Women’s Coalition for its Boundary Women’s Transition House.
  • Hope: $2,500 for the Hope and Area Transition Society for its Jean Scott Transition House.
  • Invermere: $5,000 to the Family Resource Centre of Invermere for the Women’s Information and Safe Home (WISH).
  • Kamloops: $10,000 to the Kamloops Community YM-YWCA’s Y Women’s Emergency Shelter.
  • Kaslo: $5,000 to the North Kootenay Lake Community Services Society for its Kaslo Safe Home.
  • Kitimat: $10,000 to the Tamitik Status of Women Association for its Dunmore Place Transition House.
  • Lillooet: $10,000 to the Lillooet Friendship Centre Society for its Lillooet Safe Home.
  • Masset: $10,000 to the Haida Gwaii Society for Community Peace for its Tlaa Juuhldaa Naay (“A Place of Change”) Transition House.
  • McBride and Valemount: $5,000 to the Robson Valley Support Society for its McBride Safe Home.
  • Nakusp: $5,000 to Arrow and Slocan Lakes Community Services for its Nakusp Safe Home.
  • Nelson: $10,000 to the Nelson Community Services Centre for its Aimee Beaulieu Transition House.
  • Osoyoos: $5,000 for the South Okanagan Integrated Community Services Society’s Osoyoos Safe Home.
  • Parksville: $10,000 to the Haven Society: Promoting the Safety of Women, Children, Youth and Families for the Parksville Safe Home.
  • Penticton: $10,000 to the Okanagan Nation Family Intervention and Services Society for its on-reserve Okanagan Nation Emergency Transition House.
  • Powell River: $10,000 to the Powell River and Region Transition House Society for Grace Transition House.
  • Port Alberni: $10,000 to the Alberni Community and Women’s Services Society for the Port Alberni Transition House.
  • Port Hardy: $5,000 to the North Island Crisis and Counselling Centre Society’s Port Hardy Safe Home.
  • Prince George: $10,000 to the Prince George and District Elizabeth Fry Society for Amber Transition House.
  • Prince Rupert: $10,000 to the North Coast Transition Society for its Ravens Keep Transition House.
  • Princeton: $5,000 to the Princeton Family Services Society for its Princeton Safe Home.
  • Quesnel: $10,000 for the Amata Transition House Society.
  • Revelstoke: $10,000 to the Revelstoke Women’s Shelter Society for Forsythe House – A Safe Place.
  • Salmo: $5,000 for the Salmo Community Resource Society’s Salmo Safe Home.
  • Salmon Arm: $10,000 to the Shuswap Area Family Emergency Society for its Shuswap and Area Women’s Shelter.
  • Salt Spring Island: $10,000 to Island Women Against Violence for the Salt Spring Island Transition House.
  • Sechelt: $10,000 to the Sunshine Coast Community Services Society for Yew Transition House.
  • Smithers: $10,000 for the Northern Society for Domestic Peace’s Passage Transition House.
  • Sooke: $10,000 to the Sooke Transition House Society for its Annie’s Place Transition House.
  • Squamish: $10,000 to the Howe Sound Women’s Centre Society for its Pearl’s Place Transition House.
  • Telegraph Creek: $10,000 to the Tahltan Health and Social Services Authority for its on-reserve Three Sisters Haven House.
  • Terrace: $10,000 for the Ksan House Society.
  • Trail: $10,000 to the Trail Family and Individual Resource Centre Society for its WINS Transition House.
  • Tumbler Ridge: $5,000 to the South Peace Community Resources Society for its Tumbler Ridge Safe Home.
  • Ucluelet: $10,000 to the Westcoast Community Resources Society for its Westcoast Transition House.
  • Vancouver: $25,000 to the Helping Spirit Lodge Society for its transition house.
  • Whistler: $10,000 to the Howe Sound Women’s Centre Society for Pearl’s Safe Home.
  • Williams Lake: $25,000 for the Cariboo Friendship Society’s on-reserve Chiwid Transition House.