Media Contacts

Government Communications and Public Engagement

Ministry of Children and Family Development
250 356-2007


2018 Child Care Awards of Excellence recipients

A new Ministers’ Childcare BC Award has been established to recognize contributions to early care and learning that affect the child care sector provincewide. In addition, 10 recipients, including organizations and individual child care providers, are being honoured with 2018 Child Care Awards of Excellence for their outstanding work on behalf of B.C. children and their families. A further 18 licensed child care facilities will receive a Child Care Legacy Award in recognition of more than 40 years of dedicated service to B.C. children and their families.

Child Care Awards of Excellence

There are six nomination categories for the Child Care Awards of Excellence: provincial, innovation, Indigenous, partnerships, leadership and the Ministers’ Childcare BC Award.

Ministers’ Childcare BC Award

The inaugural Ministers’ Childcare BC Award recognizes outstanding contributions to early care and learning. This year’s winner is the Coalition of Child Care Advocates of BC, a voluntary organization that has been pushing for change in the child care system for decades.


The Provincial Award recognizes early care and learning (ECL) professionals or teams who work in child care settings throughout the province and demonstrate excellence in at least one of the following areas: working collaboratively with others; creating cultural safety through culturally competent practice and inclusion of Indigenous language, culture and traditions; ensuring inclusion/encouraging diversity; supporting community efforts and continuous improvement/excellence in early learning. This year’s winners are:

  • Brentwood Preschool – Burnaby
  • Cariboo Child Care Society, Thompson Rivers University – Kamloops
  • Khalsa Childcare Centre, Satnam Education Society of B.C. – Surrey
  • Patricia Louie, Tahltan language and culture co-ordinator at the Tahltan Language and Culture Program – Tatl’ah (Dease Lake)


The Lenora Pritchard Award of Excellence recognizes an Indigenous ECL professional who is an excellent role model and mentor, or who works to promote leadership in an ECL setting. This year’s winner is Vanessa Hickman, facility manager for Awahsuk Aboriginal Head Start Preschool in Surrey.


The Innovation Award recognizes an ECL professional, team or organization that puts unique and creative ideas into action. This year’s winner is Little Owl Academy in Kelowna.


The Partnerships Award recognizes a local government or business that demonstrates excellence in working with the ECL sector to ensure the support and/or delivery of services, ensuring inclusion and encouraging diversity, supporting community efforts and continuous improvement. This year’s winner is the Great Canadian Gaming Corporation and Hastings Racecourse in Vancouver.


The Leadership Award recognizes professionals who have shown leadership in the field of early learning and care, their communities, with families, or with serving underserved or vulnerable populations. This year’s winner is Donna Chang, executive director of Cedar Cottage Neighbourhood House in Vancouver.

Leadership (Lifetime Achievement)

The Leadership Award for Lifetime Achievement recognizes professionals who have been leaders in their field for more than 20 years. This year’s winner is Tammy Dyer, deputy executive director for Growing Together Child Care and the Young Parent Program in Surrey.

Leadership (Inclusive Practices)

The Leadership Award for Inclusive Practices recognizes ECL professionals who go above and beyond to accommodate children with extra support needs and their families in programming, by finding creative ways to include children of all abilities in their child care setting. This year’s winner is the Teen Education and Motherhood Program (TEAM) Infant and Toddler Care programs, run by Beacon Community Services in Brentwood Bay.

Child Care Legacy Awards

The Child Care Legacy Awards recognize licensed child care facilities and providers that have provided more than 40 years of service in B.C. This year’s honourees are:

  • J. Puddleduck Preschool/Day care – Courtenay
  • Cowichan Preschool – Duncan
  • Little People’s Centre – Grand Forks
  • Children’s World Learning Centre – Nelson
  • New Denver Nursery School – New Denver
  • Cranberry Preschool – Powell River
  • Cedars Christian School Pre-School – Prince George
  • Le Coin des Petits – Prince George
  • Sunset Day Care Centre – Vancouver
  • Lord Tennyson Out of School Care – Vancouver
  • Franklin Community Preschool – Vancouver
  • Shaughnessy Point Grey Out of School Society – Vancouver
  • Cedar Cottage Preschool – Vancouver
  • Raymur Place Day Care – Vancouver
  • Trout Lake Community Centre Preschool – Vancouver
  • Killarney Community Centre Preschool – Vancouver
  • Tiny Tots Recreation – Vernon
  • St. Christopher’s Montessori School – Victoria