Media Contacts

Kent Karemaker

Media Relations
Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources
250 952-0628


Winners of the Provincial Mine Rescue and First Aid Competition

John T. Ryan Regional Safety Trophy: New Afton Mine (in the metal mine category for B.C. and Yukon)

Chief Inspector of Mines Award: New Afton Mine

Three person first aid:

Three Person Miners’ First Aid: Line Creek, Teck Coal
Kathy Lofstrom Memorial Trophy (best coach for three person first aid): Line Creek, Teck Coal

Surface mine rescue trophies:

Ron Brow Memorial Trophy (best extraction for surface team): Line Creek, Teck Coal
Maurice Boisse Memorial Trophy (best bench for surface team): Fording River, Teck Coal
Levitt Safety Fire Trophy: Highland Valley Copper, Teck
EKMISA Best Surface Written: Line Creek, Teck Coal
EKMISA Best Surface Rope Task: Highland Valley Copper, Teck
Safety Supervisor’s Mine Rescue Association (best first aid for surface team): Highland Valley Copper, Teck
HVC Highest non-Aggregate Points Trophy (highest points, non-aggregate): Line Creek, Teck Coal

Underground mine rescue trophies:

Best Bench Technician Trophy Richard Booth Award (best underground written): Myra Falls
U.S.W.A Mine - Mill Trophy (best underground co-ordinator): Brandon Moe, New Afton
Sullivan Cup (best first aid by underground team): New Afton, New Gold
Barry Abbott Memorial Trophy (best bench for underground team): Silvertip, Coeur Mining
Best Underground Smoke: New Afton, New Gold
Keith Bracewell Memorial Award (best obstacle and recovery): Myra Falls
Levitt Safety Fire Trophy: Myra Falls

Overall surface and underground trophies:

Overall Surface Mine Rescue Trophy (highest aggregate, best overall): Line Creek, Teck Coal
Overall Underground Mine Rescue Trophy: Myra Falls