Media Contacts

Kent Karemaker

Media Relations
Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources
250 952-0628


Members of the Standing Code Review Committee

Charles Allison, Councillor, Upper Similkameen Indian Band and Copper Mountain Mine:

Charles Allison has been a councillor for the Upper Similkameen Indian Band for the past year, applying his passion for care of the water, land, culture and traditions to the Similkameen Valley. Five years ago, he started as a contractor at the Copper Mountain Mine and has worked his way up through many different aspects of the mine: in the mill, in pit operations and on the tailings storage facility. He is a second-year apprentice heavy duty mechanic in the mine maintenance department.

Ian Anderson, general manager, Fording River Coal:

Ian Anderson has extensive knowledge of the B.C. mining industry, which has been achieved through progressive roles within Teck. Anderson has experience with a wide range of industry stakeholders. He has more than 15 years of experience within the B.C. mining regulatory framework and is well versed in current mining technologies, occupational health, personal safety, mine design and exploration, as well as closure and reclamation.

Brett Chapman, senior business representative, Local 115, Union of Operating Engineers:

Brett Chapman has worked closely with Peace River Coal’s management team and the Joint Occupational Health and Safety Committee. He has provided guidance to other business representatives for Line Creek.

Steve Hunt, director, District 3 – Western Canada, United Steelworkers Union (USW):

Stephen Hunt was named director of USW District 3 in April 2004, succeeding Ken Neumann, when he became the USW's national director for Canada. A miner and union member his entire working life, Hunt became a steelworker in 1973 and was appointed as a staff representative in 1984. In 1995, he became District 3's education, health, safety and environment co-ordinator.

Dean Lott, staff representative, USW:

Dean Lott is a union staff representative serving USW members at the Fording River and Elkview Coal mines, as well as USW locals 480 and 9705 in Trail.

Dani Miller, compliance manager, Mainland Construction Materials:

Dani Miller is an environment and safety professional with more than 20 years of experience in heavy industry and regulatory/compliance positions. Miller is the compliance manager for Mainland Construction Materials, where she is responsible for non-financial risk management, environment, prospecting, permitting and design of infrastructure upgrade projects. Since taking on this role, Miller has led her team to a Chief Inspector’s Award in 2013 as well as improved safety at the workplace and reduced insurance premiums by over 30%.

Nalaine Morin, principal, Arrowblade Consulting:

Nalaine Morin is nationally recognized for her work in environmental assessment. She has led and managed the environmental review of several large resource development projects on behalf of First Nations. Her deep technical background in both mining and environmental assessment processes, combined with being of Tahltan descent, has enabled her to understand and to identify methods for the connection and support of both First Nations traditional knowledge and western science together in a way that bridges cultural understanding on both sides. Morin was nominated to sit on the committee by the Citxw Nlaka’pamux Assembly.

Kyle Penner, mineral resource and mining engineering program student, British Columbia Institute of Technology (BCIT):

Kyle Penner is of Tahltan descent and has more than 10 years’ experience in the mining industry. His background includes experience in many different areas of a mine site – from blasting and drilling to mine support systems and operating heavy equipment. With his background in underground operations and underground blasting, he is moving toward obtaining his professional accreditation in mining engineering.

Rob Stevens, vice-president regulatory and technical policy, Association for Mineral Exploration (AME):

Rob Stevens leads the review and analysis of policies that have potential to impact mineral exploration and development in British Columbia. Stevens is a professional geologist who has more than 25 years’ experience in the mineral exploration and mining sector, including time as an exploration geologist, a faculty member with BCIT’s mineral exploration and mining program and international work with developing country governments in which he supported the development of mining policies and technical capacity. Stevens has been involved with AME for over 16 years as a board member and chair of the association.

Jennifer Swarbrick, operations supervisor, Highland Valley Copper:

Jennifer Swarbrick is Red River Métis and was born and raised in Kamloops. With her family's history in mining, Swarbrick has a deep interest in the trades, and completed the Women in Trades Program at Thompson River University. This led to her complete the First Nations Women in Mining internship program at Highland Valley Copper, where she has graduated to a full-time mines supervisor with her mines blasting certification. She is studying to complete the shiftboss certification.

Richard Tremblay, vice-president operations, Taseko Mines Limited:

Richard Tremblay is an experienced senior level executive with over 26 years in the mining industry. He has a strong operations background in open pit coal mining and processing. He has managed sites with over $500 million in annual spending and over 1,200 employees. Tremblay has been responsible for all mine-permitting activities from regulatory submission, stakeholder engagement and First Nations consultation.

Dave Williams, Unifor staff representative, Myra Falls Mine:

Dave Williams is the staff representative for Unifor Local 3019 in Campbell River. Williams is the full-time union safety officer at Nystar Mine Myra Falls and is a long-term employee at the mine and within the mining industry.