Media Contacts

Ministry of Public Safety and Solicitor General

Media Relations
250 213-3602


Facts about police boards in B.C.
  • In 2018, Surrey city council voted unanimously to terminate their agreement with the RCMP and transition to a municipal police department, in accordance with their authority under the Police Act.
  • Under the Police Act, municipalities over 5,000 people are responsible for police services in their communities and have the right to determine how those services are delivered.
  • With the addition of Surrey, there will be 12 municipal police departments in B.C. serving the following 13 communities: Abbotsford, Delta, Central Saanich, Nelson, New Westminster, Oak Bay, Port Moody, Saanich, Surrey, Vancouver, Victoria and Esquimalt, and West Vancouver. The RCMP serves all other B.C. municipalities.
  • Under section 24.2(a) of the Police Act, an appointment term to a police board cannot be longer than four years; however, under section 24.2(b) and 24.3, board members may be reappointed to serve up to six consecutive years.

Diversity in B.C.’s police boards

  • The Province’s overall goal is to have police boards that reflect the diversity of B.C., for strong and effective citizen-centred governance and police oversight.
  • Women, visible minorities, Indigenous peoples, persons with disabilities, persons of diverse sexual orientation, gender identity or expression and others who may contribute to diversity in public sector board appointments are encouraged to put their names forward for future vacancies.
  • Since June 2017, there has been an almost 100% increase in visible minorities representing police boards throughout the province and 25% of appointments have been people of colour (up from 12.5%).