Media Contacts

Tahltan Central Government

Communications Director
604 351-0726

Ministry of Energy, Mines and Low Carbon Innovation

Media Relations
250 952-0622


Initiatives within the Shared Prosperity Agreement

The Shared Prosperity Agreement (SPA) entered into by the Tahltan Central Government, the Iskut and Tahltan Band Councils and the Province of British Columbia commit the parties to work together on the following initiatives:

  • Immediate measures to address issues impacting the parties’ relationship.
  • Focused negotiation of a comprehensive reconciliation agreement, known as a foundation agreement, to define the parties’ intergovernmental partnership and transparent “rules of the road.”
  • A co-designed and phased-in land use plan across the Tahltan Territory that recognizes Tahltan rights and title.
  • A $16-million provincial contribution towards Tahltan economic self-determination.
  • A $4-million provincial contribution of implementation capacity funding for all initiatives under the SPA.

About the Tahltan Nation

The Tahltan Central Government is the administrative governing body of the Tahltan Nation. The Iskut Band and the Tahltan Band continue to govern Tahltan interests with respect to the Indian Act in the communities of Iskut, Dease Lake and Telegraph Creek. The Tahltan Central Government is the representative government of the Tahltan Nation with respect to the inherent and collective Aboriginal Title and Rights shared by all Tahltan people.

The Tahltan Nation’s Territory spans 95,933 square kilometres of northwestern British Columbia, or the equivalent of 11% of the province. Tahltan Territory includes 70% of B.C.’s Golden Triangle.

For more information, visit:

The SPA, signed in March 2020, can be found here: