Media Contacts

Ministry of Health

Media Relations
250 952-1887


Community Health Centres in B.C.

Community Health Centres (CHCs) are multi-sectoral organizations providing comprehensive, person, family, and community centred, culturally safe, quality primary health care to a community population.

CHCs are geographically defined and can serve multiple areas. CHCs are community governed with primary-care services (longitudinal and episodic) tailored to meet the health needs of the community.

CHCs in B.C. are owned by not-for-profits and health authorities with each serving as a vital hub for delivering comprehensive and accessible health-care services to local populations, fostering community well-being and promoting preventive care.

There are currently nine new or significantly expanded community health centres implemented through B.C.’s primary-care strategy, including:

Fraser Health Authority:

  • Umbrella Multicultural Health Co-op
  • Roots Community Health Centre
  • Elizabeth Fry Health Services Society Community Health Centre

Vancouver Coastal Health Authority:

  • RISE Community Health Centre
  • Bowen Island Community Health Centre

Island Health Authority:

  • Island Sexual Health
  • Westshore Community Health Centre
  • Luther Court Community Health Centre

Interior Health:

  • Rutland Community Health Centre