Media Contacts

Ministry of Health

250 952-1887 (media line)


Community health centres in B.C.

Community health centres are multi-sectoral organizations providing comprehensive, person-centred and culturally safe primary health care.

The centres are geographically defined and can serve multiple areas. They are community governed with primary care services (longitudinal and episodic) tailored to meet the health needs of the community.

The centres in B.C. are owned by either not-for-profits or health authorities, with each serving as a vital hub for delivering comprehensive and accessible health-care services to local populations, fostering community well-being and promoting preventive care.

Nine new or significantly expanded community health centres have been implemented through B.C.’s primary care strategy, including:

Fraser Health Authority:

  • Umbrella Multicultural Health Co-op
  • Roots Community Health Centre
  • Elizabeth Fry Health Services Society Community Health Centre

Vancouver Coastal Health Authority:

  • RISE Community Health Centre
  • Bowen Island Community Health Centre

Island Health Authority:

  • Island Sexual Health
  • Westshore Community Health Centre
  • Luther Court Community Health Centre

Interior Health:

  • Rutland Community Health Centre